Words-Pictures-Web

An eMarketer Blogging about Media & Technology

Promotion at Qi

Posted by buddyscalera on March 28, 2008

Well, I guess it’s officially out there. I got promoted at my job.

I know I shouldnt be all that excited about seeing a press release announcing my promotion, but I am, since it appeared today on CNNMoney.com.

Here’s the link: Qi Promotes and Expands (CNN) on Qi Promotes and Expands (FoxNews),

And in case the link ever expires, here’s what it actually says:

Buddy Scalera has been promoted from senior director, interactive content and market research to vice president, interactive content and market research. In his new position, Mr. Scalera will oversee the digital team and research, develop and deliver new interactive online strategies, including social and viral marketing, web content, search engine marketing campaigns and mobile applications. Mr. Scalera has been with Qi for two years.

In two years, I’ve seen the company grow from just a small team of about nine in-house staffers to around 30. So it’s been especially exciting, since now I can remember seeing ideas nurtured into pitches, sold into real business, and launched as measurable programs.

I’ve seen a lot of really good people get hired, and I am proud to say, I referred a couple of really good people who are doing great work at Qi. You know how you feel proud to be part of a good team and a good situation? That’s how I feel right now.

I just wanted to share the link, since it’s not every day you get to see your name on a website like that.

2 Responses to “Promotion at Qi”

  1. Katrina said

    Congratulations on the promotion! You deserve it. I like your point above about the wide audience vs. the narrow audience. Is it possible that those still influenced by wide-audience thinking are those who don’t have cable TV or Internet at home and assume that NBC, CBS, and ABC are all there is? 🙂 Also, to serve a narrow audience, do you need multiple ideas or can you take a wide-audience idea and repurpose it in multiple ways-get multiple applications for niche groups from a single broad-audience idea?

  2. Thanks for the comments.

    First, I think that people are well aware of broad media beyond the networks. It’s just that the networks are able to gain a larger share of voice, since, well, they own the biggest, most powerful medium of television. And they’re not called a “network” for nuthin’, right? They have a network of resources that can cross promote their primary interests.

    And to your second question, I think that “it all depends on the message.” A major announcement like a terrorist attack will be heard in a broad context, but people will learn of it in vertical channels. That is, my wife would probably learn of it on television, since she tends to get her news from TV and newspapers. For breaking news, it’ll be the TV and then the deeper stories will come from the paper. For me, news comes from my computer, since I work in an office and I’m on the computer most of the day. But more often than not, I am getting news from my mobile device. So the same mass media message gets to people in more narrow verticals.

Leave a Reply

 
