Words-Pictures-Web

An eMarketer Blogging about Media & Technology

Finding an Agent

Posted by buddyscalera on May 3, 2008

The more I research it, the more I realize that I am going to have to break down and find an agent.

In terms of publishing, I’ve been fortunate. As of right now, I have two books on the shelves. And by then end of this year, I’ll have a third. And none of them required an agent.

Okay, maybe an agent would have nailed me a better advance or royalty deal. I concede that is probably true. On the other hand, I’ve been fortunate with my publisher. They’re exceptionally nice, treat me well, and are responsive.

Yet, looking forward, I definitely want to produce more books, some of which may require me to expand to new publishers. And for this, I may very well need an agent to get me into new places.

So, I suppose I will need to start looking for an agent. One of my author friends has introduced me to his agent, so we’ll see how that pans out.

6 Responses to “Finding an Agent”

  1. Don said

    Eh, one question I’ve been wondering for a long time. How to agent’s get paid? Is it through the deals that you get, or do they require an initial deposit from the writer? If you know, find out, let me know.

  2. From what I’ve read, it seems that most of them get paid when they sell something. So, if they land you work, they get their rate, which in most cases is around 10-20%. Most people tell me it’s 15% for your agent.

    The fee for your advance goes to the agent, who takes his cut, and then forwards the rest to you. Theoretically a good agent will get your advance up high enough that — even with his 15% — you will make more money.

  3. Amy Jeynes said

    In response to Don: I’m pretty sure that if an agent expects money from you up front, that’s your cue to run for the door!

  4. Amy,
    I’ve heard this too. So from what you know, you should never have to pay an agent up front, right?
    Buddy

  5. Amy Jeynes said

    Everything I know about agents, I absorbed through the skin during my several years working with or near the people at Writer’s Digest Books. So I’ll defer to them:

    The Guide to Literary Agents editor’s blog:
    http://www.guidetoliteraryagents.com/blog/

    The WDB editorial director’s blog:
    http://blog.writersdigest.com/norules/

    The WDB editors were smart about blogging. No one told them to do it; they started doing it on their own initiative.

  6. Amy Jeynes said

    P.S. Yes, as far as I know, the author shouldn’t be paying the agent up front. FWIW, I’ve seen firsthand the setup you describe in which the royalty bucks go to the agent, who takes his/her cut and sends the rest to the author.

Leave a Reply

 
