Words-Pictures-Web

An eMarketer Blogging about Media & Technology

Me Read Book

Posted by buddyscalera on October 14, 2008

So, I read a book. Yay me.

Took about a week, even though it was a short book. It wasn’t even that good, but I read it to see if I could still do it.

Like most people my age, I am reading a lot less. And I rarely read novels anymore, although at one time, I used to average a paperback a week.

Now, as I try to read fiction, I can barely make it to the end. I’m so used to reading in small chunks on blogs and websites, I barely have the endurance to make it to the end of a book.

So immediately after I completed that first book, I started another. I’m trying to retrain my brain to read things longer than a blog.

Which, um, you’re reading now. So, I guess I’m sort of making you a little dumber. Yay me.

Me go read book now.

4 Responses to “Me Read Book”

  1. Although I believe that most people are reading less, I don’t think that as a culture it’s as bleak as it seems. The true difference is WHAT we are reading. I find myself reading more. The kinds of things that I read are much more “short-burst” and in snip-its. The amount of information that we are exposed to is staggering. I believe the real difference is the quality of the writing that we are reading. The tolerance we have for bad writing is much higher when our commitment is a 1200 word article or truncated news story in a media feed.

  2. Niko Zlatintsis said

    True words, Chris!

    Buddy, I try to read as much as possible, but often life is too fast-paced to leave me any time to do so. There are friends I know who haven’t read a novel in years. On the other hand, I know people who eat novels like their life was depending upon it.

    But Chris is right – we tolerate bad writing too much. For me it doesn’t matter if you’re reading a book a year or a week as long as you’re reading something that really gives you something. Even light reading can give me pleasure – bad writing, however, will make me knock my head against the wall.

    Keep reading! 🙂

  3. These days, I have far less tolerance for bad writing. I think if I am making a commitment to read something, it needs to be really, really good.

    Fortunately, sites like Amazon have user reviews, which helps me pick out books to read.

    Highly recommended: World War Z by Max Brooks

    The Highest possible recommendation: The Road by Cormac McCarthy

    Decent read: Cell by Stephen King

    Although, full disclosure here, I LISTENED to all of these books on CD-ROM as I drove to work. The books that I am reading now are actual print-on-page books.

  4. […] Me Read Book […]

Leave a Reply

 
